authorcjl

communicating

Interview With Author KC Sprayberry

Leave a comment

It is my very great pleasure to host author KC Sprayberry. She is best known for her contemporary Young Adult fiction, and her genres and themes range broadly, providing both engrossing entertainment and penetrating insights.

Thank you for joining me today. I understand you have a title ready to go. What is your latest book about to be released? Release date?

Canoples Investigations Tackles Space Pirates releases August 13, 2014.

Can you give us a teaser?

Excerpt:
Five flitters arrow around the massive tetra-flex porthole giving everyone a view of Jupiter and her moons. These are ships capable of seating two to four people for station-to-planet hops. The largest thing in sight, Io, is in synchronous orbit between the station and Jupiter.

What other books/stories have you written?

Books: Softly Say Goodbye, Take Chances, Where U @, The Wrong One, Pony Dreams, Inits, Evil Eyes, and Starlight.

Shorts: The Ghost Catcher, Family Curse … Times Two, Secret From the Flames, Grace, Mama’s Advice, and Who Am I

Anthologies: Passionate Hearts Anthology (Rediscovered Trust), The Best of Frontier Tales I (Brothers Under the Skin), The Best of Frontier Tales II (Desert Rose Bounty Hunter), Mystery Times Ten 2011 (Falsely Accused), Mystery Times Nine 2012 (The Shame of West Landry), Mystery Times Ten 2013 (An Ordinary House).

Do you publish in e-book, print, or both?

Both. Only Starlight isn’t available in print at the moment. It will be available in print during May 2014.

Where can readers find your books?

Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, and CreateSpace

All of my books are also on my website, with links to Amazon on each cover – http://www.kcsprayberry.com

Do you write in a particular genre or genres? What grabs you about this genre/these genres?

The book tells me what genre it will be in. Currently, most of my books are young adult coming of age, but I’m spreading my wings with romantic suspense, military based mystery/thrillers, and westerns.

What do you think are the biggest challenges for the type of writing you do?

Enough hours in the day to work in everything. My requests for another 72 hours per day are constantly turned down!

What inspires you?

A picture, things my kids get into, a news story, just about anything.

What do you think is the hardest thing about being published? Are there things you know now that you wish you’d known about earlier in this journey?

The hardest thing for me is the next book. Will it be good enough? Will people expect the same types of books I’ve already had published? Will I be able to put together another book?

Absolutely. I wish I’d known to have a web presence before I signed my first contract. That would have been easy to do, by creating my Facebook fan page before the contract was signed, or using Twitter and my blog more often.

What advice would you give aspiring writers?

Don’t quit. If your book is turned down by a publishing company and the editor in chief was so good as to write a note about why they turned your book down, take those words to heart. Go back and do some more editing. Search for the problems they saw.

Also, use beta readers or critique groups. A fresh set of eyes looking over your work helps to find spots where the plot lags, or you’ve forgotten a word, or something just isn’t right.

How did you get started writing?

With a diary I received for my thirteenth birthday, but I’ve always been fascinated by the written word. There have always been stories demanding a release. It wasn’t until I became a stay at home Mom that I let them loose.

Anything else you’d like to tell our readers?

Never give up on your dreams. Those dreams won’t go away because you’ve given up. If anything, they’ll haunt you day in and day out until you accept they are a vital part of your life. Once you reach for your impossible dream, and catch it, take the wild ride. It will be the most amazing time you can ever have.

How can readers contact you?

kcspray01@gmail.com

Thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

