authorcjl

communicating

Meet Solstice author Mya O’Malley!

Leave a comment

FullSizeRender-5Mya O’Malley- Contemporary Romance Author

Thanks for joining me tonight, Mya! I hear this is your first book with Solstice–welcome!

So tell us, what is your latest book/books about to be released?
Release date?
I currently have a contemporary romance/women’s fiction book, Where There is Love, published by Solstice Publishing, due for e book release on October 11, 2014. It is, however, available now for purchase in paperback. I also have a holiday paranormal romance with Astraea Press titled, If You Believe, due for release on November 25, 2014. Lastly, I have another contemporary romance novel due to be released with TouchPoint Press at the end of January.

Can you give us a teaser?
I’d love to! Here goes, a teaser from Where There is Love. This story is about a young teacher who struggles with her past. Will she decide to open her heart to love or repeat the same mistakes?

I would have done anything for that girl. Anything. I have dreamed of Mia, I have waited for Mia. I have loved Mia.
I can’t trust Mia.
I can’t get my hopes up again, only to be crushed by her. I couldn’t stand it.
She doesn’t allow herself to be happy. What has happened in her life to cause her to reject the people who love her, who care for her?
I remember the first time I ever laid eyes one her. The way she bumped into me, how embarrassed she was. I swear to this day that she is the most beautiful creature I’ve laid eyes on. Her slim build, dark hair and striking eyes. And that smile, that smile still warms my heart…
I’m happy with Danielle, she’s smart and she’s beautiful. Yeah, I’m going to give this a chance, I would be a fool not to.
But…I think…she’s not Mia.
My heart can’t take Mia.

She has the power to hurt me, and I can’t survive that again.

What other books/stories have you written?
I have a book titled, At First Sight which was released this past August by Astraea Press. It’s a fun story about the adventures of dating in the modern world. My main character Annie wants to believe that love at first sight truly does exist.

Do you publish in e-book, print, or both?
Right now I have At First Sight available in e-book format and Where There is Love available in paperback and e-book format.

Where can readers find your books?
Readers can find my books on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. My title, At First Sight is also available on Kobo, Smashwords and iTunes.

Do you write in a particular genre or genres? What grabs you about this genre/these genres?
I write mostly in the genre of contemporary romance. I suppose this is because I’m a romantic at heart. I have always loved reading in this genre and I love romantic movies.
I have also recently finished writing a Middle grade/Young Adult book. This one was tons of fun to write- it’s a story about a young teen, Miranda. Miranda believes that the grass is always greener elsewhere until she experiences an underwater world filled with mermaids, intrigue, a bit of romance and heartache.

What do you think are the biggest challenges for the type of writing you do?
I would have to say that carving out time in my busy schedule would be the biggest challenge. I’m a special education teacher, so I’m lucky to have some good chunks of time off like during the summer to concentrate on my writing.

What inspires you?
Life around me inspires me. My daughter inspires me to be a positive role model and reach for my dreams.

What do you think is the hardest thing about being published?
I love the fact that I’m a published author. I have experienced so much joy from sharing my stories with others and getting their feedback. I would have to say that receiving rejections during the submission process is pretty difficult for an author. If you feel passionate about your writing, you’ll keep at it, it’s all part of the process. Developing a thick skin and accepting constructive criticism is a must in this profession. The positive thing is that the feedback truly does help you become a better writer.

Are there things you know now that you wish you’d known about earlier in this journey?
I feel that it’s a great experience for authors to learn about the process of writing, editing and marketing through a solid support system. I’m lucky enough to work with some really great, helpful authors who enjoy helping new authors learn the ropes. I would advise new authors to join author groups on social media, participate in their publisher’s events and help out fellow authors. It really is a small world, it’s so important to be kind, professional and respectful to others.

What advice would you give aspiring writers?
Never give up on your dream, and reach out to others if you have questions about editing, marketing, whatever. If you truly love writing, there’s nothing quite like the feeling of having your book out there for others to enjoy.

How did you get started writing?
I started creating stories from a young age. As a child, I would write poetry and stories for my grandmother. I created many short stories revolving around a mermaid.

Anything else you’d like to tell our readers?
If writing is your passion, then go for it. There’s nothing like seeing your book up for sale on major retail sites or holding that very first copy of your book in your hands. If you have a story to tell, get out there and share it!

How can readers contact you? (blog, social media, author-only e-mail?)

*Website: Mya O’Malley-Website

http://www.myaomalley.com

*Facebook: facebook.com/myaomalley

*Twitter: http://twitter.com/@MyaOMalley

Blog- myaomalley.blogspot.com

Pinterest- Mya O’Malley- http://www.pinterest.com/myaomalley

Tumblr- myamalley.tumblr.com

*email- mya@myaomalley.com

Tags- #contemporary romance, #new release #romance #clean romance #chiclit #women’s fiction

Amazon Author Page- amazon.com/author/myaomalley

Here are the links to my two book trailers.
At First Sight- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRae8EcCko

Where There is Love-

Awesome! Good luck with everything! 😀

Leave a Reply

